janetheclerk

Cravat making

In tutorials on 4 June, 2009 at 8:32 pm

Making a cravat is very simple, and can be done in a couple of hours.  I have a pattern made up and in pdf format, so if you’re looking for one, drop me a line, and I’ll happily send it on.

Cravats traditionally have a silk front, with ornate detailing, and a plain backing.  You can go this route, or, as I have done, take a beautiful fabric for the front, and back it with silk; the feel of the silk on the skin is luxurious, doesn’t cause unnecessary sweating, and can provide warmth on a cold winter’s day.  As this garment is so quick and easy to make, you don’t have to resort to the hairspray trick for the silk, but you can if you just can’t face the silk without it, or a bottle of whiskey.  If you are going to do as I’ve done, and use a contrast colour for the back, choose your thread colour consciously – it must fit in with your colour idea for the garment, as you will be topstitching the garment.

You will need a front and a back – two or four pieces, depending on whether you choose to cut on the fold, or cut two pieces for each, and sew them together.  The fabric I use isn’t terribly wide, so I tend to go for the latter option.

1 four pieces ready to sew

The garment requires marking on the right side of either the front or back, as the folds are made once the garment has been turned right side out, and top stitched.  I find silk impossible to mark, so I mark the front with ordinary drawing pencils; make sure it’s a contrast colour that you will see easily.

2 marking fabric

Once your centre seams are done and pressed for the front and back pieces, pin your two pieces together, right sides facing, leaving an opening big enough to put your hand through.

3 pinning edges together

Sew your edge seams together.  Once this is done, take the time to add a drop of fray hindering glue to the six corners of your garment – you will need to trim them quite close, and sometimes fabric frays through.  I tend to wait until the glue is dry, otherwise it gets all over me and the scissors, and invariably the next precious fabric I’m working with.  Then trim your edges, but leaving the opening untrimmed; trying to hem it with a trimmed edge isn’t what I’d call fun.

4 trimmed edges showing opening

With regards to overlocking, I have decided against it for this garment for two reasons.

  1. all seams are securely sewn to the inside
  2. it may add bulk to the garment

Turn the garment right side out, making sure that your corners are pushed out as best you can.  Lay the garment out on a long, flat surface, and start pinning around the edges.  I pin regularly, as silk likes to move.

5 turned inside out and pinned

Top stitch around the entire edge of the garment.  I like to put my needle on one click to the inside of the garment, and keep the standard line on the edge of the garment.  I find this gives me a uniform width with minimal effort.

6 top stitching

You now have a solid garment that is beginning to look like it could very well be a cravat.  Next step is to make the folds from the neck down to the vertical seam; this is why the folds and vertical seam were marked on the right side of the fabric.  Pin the folds in place up to just past the vertical seam, and then press.  The pressing is important, as this is one of only two measures taken to keep the folds in place; the second is top stitching.

7 folded and pinned

Once pressed, and before you take the pins out, top stitch the centre seam and the two vertical seams.

8 top stitch on centre seam

9 top stitch on vertical seam

All this top stitching obviously pulls through to the back of the garment, which will look like the picture below – this is why it’s important to choose a thread colour that fits in with your overall colour idea for the garment; I like the fact that the stitching is visible from the back, but I want it to be a complimentary colour.

10 rear view of top stitching

Finish off the garment by sewing the threads into the folds, where no one will see them.  And voila, you have a finished garment.  Easier than pie, and lasts much longer than a good pie would too.

11 finished product

Enjoy!

  1. Hi! I’m looking for a cravat pattern for my wedding. Do you think you can send me a copy? Thank you!!

    Regards
    aileen

  2. Hi Sandy,

    I’m also looking for a cravat pattern for my wedding, Please will you email me a copy?

    Thank you,
    Mariette

  3. Hello, if you got the kinks worked out of the cravat pattern, might I get a copy? I adore cravats but they’re terribly overpriced in stores.

  4. hi there – i’d love a copy of your cravat pattern – i need to make one for a wedding in a few weeks
    thanks, megan

  5. Hi, I am also looking for a cravat pattern – would you mind sending it across please?

    Many thanks

    Angie

  6. Hi, I am also looking for a cravat pattern – would you mind sending it across please?

    Many thanks

    Angie

  7. i hope i have sent everyone a pattern who asked for it. if not, pls drop me another line? i would love to see what you have all made, pls send photos 🙂
    sandy

  8. Hi janetheclerk,

    may I have a copy of the pattern for the cravat please? It looks great how you did it in two colours.

    Many thanks in advance for sending it!

  9. Hi,Please would you be so kind as to send me the pattern for making cravats. I am a novice at sewing, but would love to have a go for my daughters wedding.

  10. Could you also email me the pattern please? Hopefully, I’ll be able to get someone to make the ones needed for my wedding rather than pay a tailor… hehe

    Thanks!

  11. HI there its so wonderful to see your tutorial and photo’s and such a help I am making cravats for my groom and his men for our wedding next month. Have been looking everywhere for months for a pattern but without much success. Would you be so kind as to email a copy of your pattern I’d love to make them and will try and send you a photo of the completed cravats 🙂 ~ Sincerely Laura Lauder

  12. I would love it if you could send me a copy of that pattern, been thinking of making a couple to be able to alternate from tie/bowtie.
    the cravats looks fantastic and i cant wait to try making my own:D

    Thank you in advance.

    Wilhelm

  13. please cpould you send me a copy of your cravat pattern. As my husband would like some.

    Many thanks Teresa

  14. Oh gosh! I’ve been looking and looking for a pattern!! Would you mind terribly passing the pattern pdf on to me? I have a group of guys in an improv acting troop that all want cravats and sashs! Email is nekopirate@gmail.com Thanks in advance!! 😀

  15. Hi, please mail me a copy of the pattern, Thanks a lot

  16. hello!
    I am desperate for a cravat pattern, could you possibly send me yours? thanks a lot elassemblee@hotmail.com

  17. Hello Janet, could I please have a copy of your cravat pattern?
    Thankyou,
    Amber.

  18. I would really appreciate it if you could also email me the pattern. Would love to try making some for my wedding rather than normal ties.
    Thanks heaps,
    Teresa

  19. Wonderful tutorial! I as well would love a copy of this pattern. Thank you so much!

  20. Hello Jane,

    May you please send me a copy of your cravat pattern?

    Thank you!

  21. May I please have a copy of the cravat pattern? Thank you so much! 🙂

  22. Hi
    I love your cravats and wonder if you could send me the pattern please? My daughter is getting married this summer and I have bought some lovely silk for the cravats, but couldn’t find a pattern.

    Thanks so much.
    Viv

  23. Could you please send me a copy of the pattern? Thank-you very much! Looking forward to it. Kayo

  24. Hi there

    your cravats look fab – would love a copy of the pattern as i have been challenged to make 7 cravats for my brother in laws wedding…
    Am hoping they are as simple as you say as they haven’t given me much warning!

    Thanks

    Juliet

  25. Hello! I love the tutorial – it will be really helpful. I would love to have a copy of that pattern so I could make a cravat for my husband-to-be to wear at our wedding!

    Many thanks in advance!

    • hello!
      i have been gone for a very long time. would you still like this pattern? i’m so sorry i didn’t see this – i normally get notification, but i now see that nobody’s messages got to me. let me know?
      thanks
      sandy

  26. Hi there!
    I would Love a copy of your cravat pattern. Please please will you send it to me? I will send you pictures when it’s completed! Thank you SO much. I have been looking everywhere for a pattern – it’s for my fiancé to wear on our wedding day 🙂

    Take care,
    Estelle
    murphy.estelle@gmail.com

  27. Hi Jane,
    I love your work! I am trying to make cravats for the men in our wedding party and was hoping you would be so kind to please send me your pattern as I do not seem to be able to find anything on this side of the world (Cape Town, South Africa).
    Thanks, really do appreciate it!
    Reime

Leave a Reply

